Biodiversity Congo (Brazzaville) (COG)
  FishBase Complete Literature Reference
Species Families Species Families
Marine 444 142 No Quéro, J.-C., J.-C. Hureau, C. Karrer, A. Post and L. Saldanha (eds.), 1990
Freshwater 421 41 No Daget, J., J.-P. Gosse and D.F.E. Thys van den Audenaerde, 1984
Total 844 174 No
Ref.   Daget, J., J.-P. Gosse and D.F.E. Thys van den Audenaerde, 1984
Conservation The following information is to be sought: - Status of knowledge of the freshwater fauna; - Existence of conservation plans; - Information on major aquatic habitats or sites within the country; - Current major threats to species; - Future potential threats to species; - Contact(s) for further information.
Geography and Climate The Democratic Republic of Congo can be divided into four topographical regions namely: (a) a coastal plain which extends about 60 km inland to the foothills of the Mayombe Mountains; (b) the Niara and Ogouè Valleys of the south-centre lie between mountains; (c) the Bateke Plateau, which serves as watershed to the Ogouè and some of the feeder streams of the Zaire system; and (d) the Zaire Basin, which occupies the whole of the north of the country. There is some dry savanna in the centre of the country but most of it is covered with dense rain forest. There is one long rainy season which lasts for eight months of the year and peaks in April and November. The dry season lasts from June to September. Temperatures are even, but reach a minimum during the dry period.

Ref.  Vanden Bossche, J.-P. and G.M. Bernacsek, 1990
Hydrography Lakes: there are several minor lakes associated with river floodplains (i.e., Lakes Tele, Cayo, Dinga, Nanga). Brazzaville is located on Pool Malebo (Stanley Pool), a lake-like enlargement of the Zaire/Congo River. Rivers, floodplains and swamps: the Zaire/Congo River forms the frontier between Zaire and Congo for over 500 km2 of its lower course. The frontier continues for a further 500 km up the Ubangui. The hinterland of these rivers forms a vast marshland (the Cuvette Congolaise) with extensive savanna floodplains and permanently flooded gallery forests. The are which covers about 30 - 45,000 km2 is drained by the River Sangha, the Likouala and Likouala-aux-Herbes as well as by numerous smaller rivers. Of several smaller coastal rivers, the Kouilou is the largest. Reservoirs: there is one impoundment on the Bouenza (tributary of Kouilou) at Moukoukoulou and a second is planned at Sounda on the Kouilou. Coastal lagoons: there are three small lagoons: Conkouati, Loubi and Malonda.

Ref.  Vanden Bossche, J.-P. and G.M. Bernacsek, 1990
Comments & Corrections
Back to Search
cfm script by eagbayani, 23.12.02 ,  php script by rolavides, 13/10/09 ,  last modified by rolavides, 1:27 PM 13/10/09